SailBluePlanet

See what our guests think of us

SailBluePlanet

Stacks Image 101

Read what some of our recent guests and RYA students have to say about us

Hi Capt. Rick, Apologies for the delay in thanking you for our lovely week with you. We had an amazing time and loved the places you took us to. Certainly, these wouldn't have been a feature had it not being for you. We felt safe and comfortable throughout our time with you. Fabulous places to eat, I couldn't fault any of the places you recommended and would happily go back to all of them.
Thank you again for a great time.
Hayley Flack and family xx  (UK 2018)
Hi Captain Rick, Just want to thank you for a fantastic holiday all of us enjoyed a great experience with great hospitality. You may just get a few royalties Rick as Jo was dancing to the “Bump” in Kassioppi
Once again thanks for everything enjoy the rest of the season hopefully see you again next year
Stew Teague, Jo Michael & Jess xx (UK 2018)
Good afternoon Captain Rick, I hope this finds you well and that you are having a great time. I just wanted to drop you a very quick email to convey Robbie and my thanks for such a wonderful experience. Robbie in particular has spoken of nothing else since we arrived home… you, and Blue Planet are hot topics in the house and with all we are bumping into! Robbie and I have already started making enquiries for more sailing experiences for him and he his set on coming back to you again! I wish you a successful season. I have to dash to get him to the cross country race!
Kindest regards Sarah and Bobby Barton (UK 2018)
Hi Captain Rick, Thank you for a lovely week we all enjoyed your company and sailing it was a fantastic experience. We are all back to work now and are very busy catching up with things Heather contacted Uni and they said they will give the final grades out next week so fingers crossed for a first. I hope your family are nice this week and appreciate your jokes
Regards Lynn Flint and family xx (UK 2018)
Hi Capt Rick Just wanted to let you know that we had a fabulous week on Blue Planet, really special! Thanks very much for everything, and do look us up when you're back in RIchmond and we"ll have a beer, Liz x
Liz Goldspink and family
"We spent a fantastic week with Captain Rick sailing around the beautiful bays of Corfu, Paxos and the mainland. I'm sure all the good skippers closely guard their mooring spots and secluded bays, but Rick had a knack of getting us to great places, whether getting in to a port at the best time and recommending a good restaurant, taking us to a great place to stargaze after a barbecue on the boat or knowing when to get to a popular spot before the crowds. One evening there was a bit of heavy weather coming in and Rick got us to port 5mins before the ideal spot opened, letting us moor the boat with the stern to the wind. In the morning we saw the Sunsail and other boats floundering with crossed chains while we serenely drifted out! I would recommend the trip to any of my nicest friends".
Nick le Moignan, London & Sydney (family of 8 skippered sailing holiday)
What an amazing family experience! We all had so much fun. From the very first day there was plenty of swimming, eating and relaxing! A highlight was stopping at completely secluded beach with a single shack serving delicious souvlaki.  We also enjoyed docking in various quaint Greek fishing villages, each night visiting a different village and restaurant. Thanks Rick for introducing us to sailing in the Med, we'll definitely be back!”
Karin Aggouras, Cape Town South Africa (3 generation family of 5 skippered sailing holiday)
What an amazing family experience! We all had so much fun. From the very first day there was plenty of swimming, eating and relaxing! A highlight was stopping at completely secluded beach with a single shack serving delicious souvlaki.  We also enjoyed docking in various quaint Greek fishing villages, each night visiting a different village and restaurant. Thanks Rick for introducing us to sailing in the Med, we'll definitely be back!”
Karin Aggouras, Cape Town South Africa (3 generation family of 5 skippered sailing holiday)
“I started sailing as a complete novice with no sailing experience whatsoever. Thanks to Captain Rick's patient explanations of nautical terms,  rules of the road  and their practical application and teaching me to deal with the unexpected on board, I passed the RYA Competent Crew course in August 2010. A year later, I followed up with the RYA Day Skipper Non-Tidal, where I had fun plotting our courses. Experiencing an unusually heavy wind (for the area) and anchoring out in a bay in it were some of the challenges we faced.  Besides being an excellent teacher, Captain Rick has a flair for people and manages to get everyone on board to do their best and pitch in. He also has wonderful insider tips to some lovely little restaurants on shore! I would sail with him anytime!
Monika Naef, Biel-Benken, Switzerland (RYA Competent Crew and Day Skipper courses)
 "Just wanted  to thank you for a wonderful two weeks on board “Blue Planet”.   It was really what I would call gourmet  sailing.  I will never forget the two meals we had at Budo’s restaurant in Plataria with the ever friendly Christos.  My Birthday cake and champagne provided by Christos  was a real surprise , thanks for organising things.  The nights we spent in Gaios,and Lakka on Paxos  were also really memorable ,  Carnayo’s  was good, but Erimitis was outstanding.   Great  menu and a view  and sunset I will remember until the day I go.  I’m still planning on getting “that” boat.  It has to be done!   Keep up the good work, hope you discover some more gems of restaurants  in  some of the other ports you frequent.  Keep in touch and good luck", Paul , Lisette , Mac and Eva. (Australia) June 2013
“I learned to sail having completed both Competent Crew and Day Skipper courses with Rick. To me Rick is really delighted to teach and share what he knows of sailing and the sea – which is a lot.  He is generous with his time and cares that one ' gets it ' and that after that the courses serve one so you can enjoy the ongoing experience of sailing but safely.  Gradually increasing both knowledge and enjoyment and taking a yacht out by myself and realising 'you' are now the skipper. After several yacht bareboat charters I appreciate what a good and solid foundation I received from Rick and the RYA syllabus”.
Colin Goldman, Berkshire, England (RYA Competent Crew and Day Skipper courses)
"Since graduating I wanted to learn how to sail, and where better than Corfu?  I even managed to persuade my best friend to come with me, it really didn't take that much. Rick is one of the best teachers I have had, he explains everything in a way you can understand, and most importantly because he has been sailing around Corfu for a while he knows all the best places to eat. I'm sure that we ate better that week than we had for ages. Honestly that week is something I will never forget, the memories of sailing under stars, mooring (that's parking in car speak) in secluded bays, eating BBQ's, snorkelling in crystal clear waters, lounging in the hammock on the deck watching the stars without light pollution...idyllic. Rick is an excellent guide and friend, so much so that we still occasionally keep in touch.  I look forward to doing my Day skipper course, time permitting.”
Jenf Waite, Leeds & China (RYA Competent Crew course
I took the combined competent-crew and day skipper course:"Sailing with Blue Planet and her skipper Rick Driscoll.
The boat is very comfortable and well maintained,the Skipper is very knowledgeable, competent and uses good instructional techniques. Life onboard is a very great balance between learning and enjoyment. The beautiful Northern Ionian harbours provide fun and relaxing evenings after a good day at sea. Overall, a great experience for those in search of an active yet fun holiday whether you're planning to pursue sailing instruction or simply cruise this very unique part of the world in good company".
Marco Rusconi ( Canada) 19/05/2013
“I started sailing as a complete novice with no sailing experience whatsoever. Thanks to Captain Rick's patient explanations of nautical terms,  rules of the road  and their practical application and teaching me to deal with the unexpected on board, I passed the RYA Competent Crew course in August 2010. A year later, I followed up with the RYA Day Skipper Non-Tidal, where I had fun plotting our courses. Experiencing an unusually heavy wind (for the area) and anchoring out in a bay in it were some of the challenges we faced.  Besides being an excellent teacher, Captain Rick has a flair for people and manages to get everyone on board to do their best and pitch in. He also has wonderful insider tips to some lovely little restaurants on shore! I would sail with him anytime!
Monika Naef, Biel-Benken, Switzerland (RYA Competent Crew and Day Skipper courses)
"We talked about it so many times - we want to thank you again for a fantastic trip.
It was really a unique experience which we will never forget - and
you did a fantastic job! You made it a GREAT vacation for all of us - thanks. Look forward to seeing you again ":-)
Big hugs from the
Matell family ( from Denmark) July 2013
"I am writing on behalf of everyone. We would like to say that we had brilliant time at your boat. We love the places where you took us, few of them were truly breathtaking. It is hard to forget some stars sky or the unbelievable sunset at Erimitis restaurant on top of the hill on Paxos. In addition to the great nature, the food of the restaurants you chose we unanimously gave a 5 star award to ++  Last but not least we laughed our head's off ahahhahaah at your jokes and stories, we are still repeating them . Thank you thank you again we are so recharged to face the hard winter".
Francesca Frosoni and friends, ( from Italy,Spain and London) September 2013
"I completed my day skipper combined course in October this year and thoroughly enjoyed my time on the Blue Planet with Captain Rick and the other participants. I now feel confident to take out my friends (crew) and plan to do so next year in fact! Rick has a very thorough and thoughtful approach to teaching which is driven by a genuine desire to ensure that you are safely ready to pursue sailing as a passion. We benefited not only from the core modules but also the breadth of knowledge Rick holds of the seas and weather patterns. Of course doing the training in the beautiful Greek islands adds a holiday aspect to the training and I will always remember the dolphin dancing around the bow :) As it was October we had some pretty hairy moments with the wind, but this just made for a better training opportunity - what an introduction to sailing. I'm ridiculously excited I have my skippers licence and I loved every minute of the trip"!
Rosie Jackson (Queens Pk London) October 2013
I wanted to thank you for the most excellent time spent on the Blue Planet. It was loads of fun…I hope the rest of the season goes well, and that our paths will cross again. Ahoy!
Theo Diamantis (Canada August 2013)
How are you, Rick? Was just thinking about you lately. It would be a real luck to meet another teacher in my life, who would be as good as you in teaching sailing! Alexander Kalachev ( Moscow Russia ) 2012
Rick, thanks so much for your patience in providing a crash course in sea craft to a couple of land lubbers. It's been a really memorable 2 weeks. I'm sure we will now embark on a sea life. All our love, Lara and Jamie (South London) 2013
Hello, Rick? It was a great week for us on Blue Planet, and a happy introduction to sailing again after some time off. We will talk again. Best from Peter and Jane ( Devon UK) 2014
Rick, A big thank you for the holiday and your patience with our children, it was a great experience that we are busy telling everybody about…Cherysse and family ( UK ) 2014
"Rick, you are a great teacher; your'e knowledge and enthusiasm for the craft of sailing is infectious.  We learned loads, and had lot of fun at the same time. We sailed to some idyllic places and ate really well - arriving at sunset in the Bay of Lakka, and the food at Budos were particular highlights."  Sam and Jennie ( London UK ) 2014
"I did my RYA Day Skipper course with Rick in September 2014. I must tell that learning has been very entertaining for me and I had a lot fun doing the course. I practiced various aspects of boat handling and learned a lot of things about sailing and being a skipper. They say you need to have a license to go out at sea but you need to have real knowledge and skills to return from sea, and now I have them thanks to Rick". Misha, Saint-Petersburg, Russia.
Rick, I've actually been meaning and meaning to mail you. Not only because I want to know how you are - but because Your Star Student bought a yacht one month ago! OK - she's not Blue Planet - but she's 33 feet, and Beautiful! A 70s Girl ( some might say 'old', I prefer Classic...) We sailed her home up Penobscot Bay, so far without disaster. Lucretia Grindle, USA (Day Skipper student). 2014
Many thanks Rick for an amazing fortnight aboard Blue Planet! The training (RYA Dayskipper and Competent Crew) you gave us was very comprehensive, giving the whole family a great basis for all our future yachting adventures. You also took us to some utterly idyllic places that we cannot wait to return to! Our top favourites include Erimitis, Toula’s, La Cucina, cocktails at the Rooftop Bar at The Cavalieri Hotel, gorgeous dishes at the tucked away restaurant at Plateria; and the kids’ all-time favourite, Matilda’s ice cream parlour at Lakka. We loved swimming straight off the back of the yacht to the nearest beach, watching the most beautiful sunsets and often sleeping under the stars or in the hammock. We are busy planning our return to the Ionian next year and hope to catch up with you then, if not before. Thanks again for an awesome holiday!
From Ed, Angie, Hugh and Mike in Devon. August 2015
Hi Rick I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful sailing holiday it was so much more than we imagined from beginning to end. All the beautiful locations you sailed us to on the mainland, Paxos and Corfu were way beyond our expectations and the amazing restaurants and bars that you recommended to us were all a culinary delight. Your BBQ in the bay was a great night topped off with a game if cheat, just remember the eyes for future games !!!!
We were all so sad when our week ended and the holiday will be a magical memory for many many years.
Thanks for making our very first bucket list holiday amazing which was my choice and I can only say that this holiday has set the bar very high !!!
Love
The Fusco's, Smail's and Smith's xx July 2015
Thank Capt Rick for an amazing week aboard the Blue Planet.  We saw Greece as I think it should be seen, were excited by the dolphins more than just the once,  and most importantly the food...the restaurants ranking high up on our list of favourites (and as you know Rick, we like our food).
One day before lunch whilst swimming in a beautiful bay, Susie said to me 'how lucky are we'.What more can I say.....
Claire Whitham and friends June 2015
Hi Rick : We're back home refusing to take our shorts off and still eating Greek yogurt, honey and nuts!
We would just like to say again what a fantastic holiday you both gave us.  I couldn't begin to decide what we enjoyed most, learning a bit about sailing, the good company, the non-stop music, the brilliant places you took us to swim and explore, the fun of swimming ashore to get ice cream money box and shoes above our heads or the restaurants you suggested for evening meals......I could go on and on, but yes Rick those burgers were pretty spectacular and going feral is the way to go!!!
We are missing you already, so if ever you do want a quiet time in the countryside just email us and let us know.
Hope the sailing is good this week.
Loads of love Julia and family xx June 2017 UK
Hi Rick, Just to say thank you to you for a really memorable week. Tracy & Jeff Sophie and Emma (Surrey) Skippered charter 2017 UK
Hi Captain Rick. Karen and myself would like to thank you for a fantastic week aboard with yourself and Karenski. We had a lot of fun and learnt a lot along the way.
Karen is chuffed to bits about getting her Competent Crew certificate and I'd like to thank you for putting me through my paces with the Day Skipper course - a really enjoyable learning experience.
Lee and Karen Cartwright from Shetland Scotland, ( Rya Day Skipper and Competent Crew courses) 2017